Montress Fans Rejoice! Image Reveals Stacked Fall Lineup of Montress Titles

Fans of Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda’s bestselling, Eisner award winning series Monstress will have plenty to celebrate heading into the Fall with a special limited edition Monstress Book One hardcover hitting shelves this week; a new installment of the ongoing series—Monstress #30 single issue—and Monstress, Vol. 5 trade paperback hitting shelves in September; and a two issue miniseries—Monstress: Talk-Stories—launching in November from Image Comics.

Longtime fans and new readers will want to get their hands on the deluxe limited edition of Monstress Book One hardcover—each copy signed by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda—a limited print run of only 500 copies. It collects the same interiors as the standard Monstress Book One hardcover edition: Monstress #1-18 single issues of the beloved and multiple award-winning comic series, plus extras, but with a stylish new cover.

Monstress #30 will conclude the current story arc and asks: Who will win this crucial first battle between the Federation and Arcanics? And whose side is Maika on, anyway?

Bridging the gap between the fifth and sixth arc (which resumes in January 2021), Monstress returns with Talk-Stories, a two-part limited series that invites you to eat dumplings beside the fire and listen as Kippa recounts a defining moment from her childhood.

Available to order now at your local comic shop:

IMAGE COMICS
(W) Marjorie M. Liu (A/CA) Sana Takeda
Maika Halfwolf lives in a world gripped by war-an alternate, matriarchal 1900s Asia brimming with arcane dangers. As she struggles to overcome the trauma of violence and regain knowledge of her past, she becomes inextricably linked to an eldritch monster of tremendous power. This link will transform them both, and place them in the crosshairs of deadly powers both human and otherworldly.
  
"A vivid, dynamic world. I've never seen anything quite like MONSTRESS."
-THE NEW YORK TIMES
  
"Takeda's visuals recall realistic, gritty manga such as Lone Wolf and Cub,
with magic and monsters to rival those of Hayao Miyazaki's films."
-PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
  
"Filled to the brim with awesome."
-KIRKUS REVIEWS
  
This enhanced hardcover edition, signed by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda and limited to 500 copies, collects the first 18 issues of the beloved and multiple award-winning comic series, plus special extras.
In Shops: Aug 05, 2020
SRP: $150.00

Available for pre-order now at your local comic shop:

IMAGE COMICS
(W) Marjorie M. Liu (A/CA) Sana Takeda
Who will win this crucial first battle between the Federation and Arcanics? And whose side is Maika on, anyway?  
In Shops: Sep 02, 2020
SRP: $3.99
PREVIEWS Page #74

IMAGE COMICS
(W) Marjorie M. Liu (A/CA) Sana Takeda
The next volume in the bestselling Eisner, Hugo, Harvey & British Fantasy Award-winning series by MARJORIE LIU and SANA TAKEDA!
The long-dreaded war between the Federation and Arcanics is about to explode.  Maika must choose her next steps: will she help her friends, or strike out on her own?
COLLECTS MONSTRESS #25-30
In Shops: Sep 30, 2020
SRP: $16.99
PREVIEWS Page #58

On sale Wednesday, November 25


Monstress: Talk-Stories #1 (of 2)

New to the world of Monstress? Check out these accolades & selected quotes of praise for the series to get an idea of what to expect when you check out this series.

  • 2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Writer
  • 2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Painter/Multimedia Artist
  • 2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Continuing Series
  • 2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Publication for Teens
  • 2018 Eisner Award winner, Best Cover Artist
  • 2018 Harvey Award winner, Book of the Year
  • 2019, 2018, 2017 Hugo Award winner, Best Graphic Story
  • 2018, 2017 British Fantasy Award winner, Best Comic/Graphic Novel
  • 2018, 2016, 2015 Entertainment Weekly’s The Best Comic Books of the Year"
  • 2018, Newsweek’s Best Comic Books of the Year
  • 2018, The Washington Post’s 10 Best Graphic Novels of the Year
  • 2018, Barnes & Noble’s Best Books of the Year
  • 2018, YALSA’s Great Graphic Novels for Teens
  • 2018, Thrillist’s Best Comics & Graphic Novels of the Year
  • 2018, Powell’s Best Science-Fiction, Fantasy, Horror, and Graphic Novels of the Year

"A Woman Has Finally Won the Top Writing Award in Comic Books" —TIME

"Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda take eastern and western comics storytelling traditions and styles, and create something wholly their own and remarkable: a beautifully told story of magic and fear, inhumanity and exploitation, of what it means to be human and the monsters we all carry inside us. Also, some of the best cats in comics. A delight." —Neil Gaiman

"Liu's accomplishment is impressive. She's created characters who feel larger than life, but whose motivations and values are almost always obscure.” —NPR

"Liu and Takeda have created a vivid, dynamic world, sort of a steampunk Asia of a century ago, and populated it with sharp characters and an intricate mythology that incorporates gods, monsters and everything in between. Female characters dominate Liu’s story line—which unfolds bit by bit like a novel through Takeda’s gorgeous sequential panels—and touches on themes of race, war, duality, friendships and the meaning of family. In all my decades of reading comics, I’ve never seen anything quite like Monstress, and even though it falls in the category of epic fantasy, it also confirms my suspicion that sarcastic cats are secretly in charge of everything." —The New York Times

“If you want big, beautiful, terrifying, violent magic, Monstress is your next favorite comic.” —Cosmopolitan

"The best way to understand the complicated mythos of Monstress is to dive in headfirst and let it wash over you...On top of that, you don’t need to know much to appreciate the breathtaking beauty of Takeda’s art. No other comic looks like Monstress. Takeda’s painting creates a world where dreamlike and horrific fantasy creatures exist side-by-side with incredibly complex steampunk technology." —Entertainment Weekly

“…as ambitious as George R.R. Martin or J.R.R. Tolkien…” —The Los Angeles Review of Books

"Monstress is a sprawling epic fantasy that drops readers into the middle of a magic-filled alternate history. Described as a kind of 'matriarchal Asia,' Maika’s universe is wracked by a race war and inhabited by violent witch-nuns, vicious deities, and innocent civilians—all of which is brought to life by Takeda’s exquisite manga-style, Art Deco–inspired art." —The Atlantic

"Takeda’s visuals recall realistic, gritty manga such as Lone Wolf and Cub, with magic and monsters to rival those of Hayao Miyazaki’s films.” —Publishers Weekly

"Intricate and detailed, with a definite manga influence, Takeda's artwork creates a lush and dangerous world for Liu's equally dangerous characters. The work is infused with feminist themes; almost all of the characters are strong—and deadly—women.” —School Library Journal

“Filled to the brim with awesome.” —Kirkus Reviews

“World-building on a scale rare in mainstream comics.” —The Hollywood Reporter

"In the center of this world is Maika, a girl who lost her mother and most of her left arm and is on a quest for answers or vengeance, whichever comes first. She’s defensive, quick to anger, and not entirely convinced of her own sanity. In other words, she’s a fictional woman imbued with all the faults and flaws of a real one." —New York magazine/Vulture

"Feels like a battle cry." —Vox.com

"Monstress mixes steampunk and fantasy in the best way." —Complex

Follow Us Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Instagram Icon YouTube Icon Rss Feed Email
Outside North America? Click here