Mobile Menu Toggle

2016 Harvey Award Winners Announced

No caption.

Named in honor of the late Harvey Kurtzman, one of the industry's most innovative talents, the Harvey Awards recognize outstanding work in comics and sequential art. The winners were presented September 2, 2016in Baltimore, MD, in conjunction with the Baltimore Comic-Con.

This was the eleventh year for the Harvey Awards in Baltimore, MD.

Without further delay, the 2016 Harvey Award Winners:

This year's winners include:

  • Best Letterer: John Workman, RAGNAROK, IDW Publishing

  • Best Colorist: Laura Allred, SILVER SURFER, Marvel Comics

  • Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: BLOOM COUNTY, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick

  • Best Online Comics Work: BATTLEPUG, Mike Norton,

  • Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Tie: TWO BROTHERS, Dark Horse Books and CORTO MALTESE: BEYOND THE WINDY ISLES, IDW Publishing

  • Best Inker: Klaus Janson, DARK KNIGHT III: THE MASTER RACE, DC Comics

  • Best New Series: PAPER GIRLS, Image Comics

  • Most Promising New Talent: Tom King, THE VISION, Marvel Comics

  • Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarsky, HOWARD THE DUCK, Marvel Comics

  • Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: LUMBERJANES, BOOM! Box/BOOM! Studios

  • Best Graphic Album Previously Published: THE LESS THAN EPIC ADVENTURES OF TJ AND AMAL, Iron Circus Comics

  • Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: PEANUTS: A TRIBUTE TO CHARLES M. SCHULZ, Scott Newman, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios

  • Best Domestic Reprint Project: CRIMSON VOL. 1, BOOM! Studios

  • Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics

  • Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: MARCH: BOOK TWO, Top Shelf Productions


  • Best Graphic Album Original: MARCH: BOOK TWO, Top Shelf Productions

  • Best Continuing or Limited Series: SAGA, Image Comics

  • Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, SAGA, Image Comics

  • Best Artist: Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics

  • Best Cartoonist: Stan Sakai, USAGI YOJIMBO

  • Best Single Issue or Story: PEANUTS: A TRIBUTE TO CHARLES M. SCHULZ, BOOM! Studios

  • Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Award: Carl Barks, Al Jaffee

  • Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Beth Widera

  • Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Giella

For additional information about Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards, visit

Follow Us Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Instagram Icon YouTube Icon Rss Feed Email
Search for a Comic Shop
Outside North America? Click here

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. To manage our use of cookies click here.
By clicking 'Accept & Continue' or closing this banner, you accept our use of cookies.