Quantcast

by Marty Grosser, PREVIEWS Editor

PREVIEWS gets into its “stride” and locks in its familiar format and style during the so-called “aughties”. That is, until 2008, when we redesigned many aspects of the catalog still being used today.

SEPTEMBER 2000

“Alex Ross makes a return to the list with his painted image for his oversized Captain Marvel graphic novel, SHAZAM! The Power of Hope.”

SEPTEMBER 2001

“Ed Brubaker and Darwyne Cooke bring us their sexy new interpretation of longtime Batman foil, Selina Kyle, in their Catwoman monthly series.”

JUNE 2002

“Alex Ross again. This time he brings us the classic Japanese super-team Gatchaman, better known in the Western world as Battle of the Planets!”
AUGUST 2002

“Jim Lee hits the cover of Previews again, this time for his debut on Batman #608, with writer Jeph Loeb.

   
FEBRUARY 2004

“Brian Azzarello and Jim Lee (again!) bring the Man of Steel into a new era with their debut as the new creative team for Superman #204.”

JUNE 2005

“Alex Ross. Justice #1. ‘Nuff said.”

   

SEPTEMBER 2005

“I just like how relaxed and personal Superman seems on this cover, from the cover of All Star Superman #1 by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely.”

OCTOBER 2006

“That Alex Ross guy… again. This time its for the debut issue of the ongoing Justice Society of America series, which would go on to feature many spectacular covers by Ross.”
   
MAY 2009

“Amazing Spider-Man hit its 600th issue milestone, and Previews featured it on our cover. Little did we realize then, that there were only 100 issues left in the run…”
AUGUST 2009

“Planetary was always one of my Must-Reads each month, and it was murder waiting for that final issue of the series. This issue also featured one of our rare sideways covers…”

Click here for more PREVIEWS 300 coverage!