Kids Comics: PREVIEWS Celebrates Kids Comics Month

by Andrea Purcell

February is Kids Comics month and the February Kids Comics Column is bursting at the seams with great all-ages titles, perfect for young and young at heart readers. Every month we pick a few titles out of the PREVIEWS catalog that any comic reader will love, no matter their age. Whether these stories are for a young reader new to comics, or a great all-ages story perfect for you, these stories make a great addition to any bookshelf. Look below to see the titles that will soon arrive at your local comic book shop along with many more great comics and toys, and be sure to pre-order your favorites!

**********

Adventure is out there in Dark Horse Comics new all-ages graphic novel Poppy and the Lost Lagoon (FEB160026). Fans of Tintin and Harriet the Spy will love Poppy as she, and her sidekick Colt Winchester, sets off across the globe on a wild journey. Poppy is tasked with solving the Mummy Mouth riddle, a clue spoken once a year by a shrunken mummy head held by the reincarnated Egyptian king Ramses MV. The clue given sends Poppy, along with Colt, and Ramses’ cat Krums, to the Lost Lagoon; an ancient civilization that was perched on the back of a giant octopus! Poppy and her pals must solve the ancient riddle while dodging ner-do-wells, and a mysterious robot with murky intentions. Creators Matt Kindt and Brian Hurtt bring Poppy to life with vibrancy and hopefully more escapades for this young heroine are in the future. 

Bad guys beware, the Masked Mallard is back in an all new ongoing series from Joe Books! Disney’s Darkwing Duck (FEB161603) returns to comics to enchant a whole new generation with action and antics. In this all new original story, Darkwing’s electrifying enemy Megavolt has once again been defeated and is locked up for good in St. Canard’s all new escape-proof prison. But is the prison really as secure as it seems, or could this be the start of a devious plan? Never fear, Darkwing Duck is on the case. Let’s get dangerous!

The award winning all-ages series Princeless is a fantastic comic about Princess Adrienne, a tomboyish take-charge heroine who can save herself. Princeless is now starting a new story arc at Action Lab, and in the latest installment, Princeless: Make Yourself (FEB161003), Adrienne is on a quest to rescue her sisters. But who will rescue her loyal dragon companion Sparky? Things aren’t looking good for the Princess’ animal friend, as he heads straight for a group of female dwarves called the Dragon Slayers. Tasked with protecting their people from dragon attacks, they’re set on taking down Sparky, unless Adrienne can get there first. An enjoyable read for comic fans of any age, Princeless is truly a must-read comic.

Fall down the rabbit hole once more in Dynamite Entertainment’s graphic novel adaptation of the Complete Alice in Wonderland (FEB161371). Children and adults will fall in love with Wonderland all over again in this beautiful collection, now available for the first time in softcover. All of the outrageous characters are here, from the White Rabbit to the Red Queen, as readers follow Alice from the river bank to her final dinner party. Artist Erica Awano brings Lewis Carroll’s world to life in her own unique style, blending manga with a European flair for a fresh take on one of the most beloved characters in literature. 

Fans of Kung Fu Panda and Inuyasha will love The Mighty Zodiac (FEB161673), a new six-issue mini-series from Oni Press. An order of warriors tasked with recovering the six stars fallen out of the night sky to restore the light of the world, The Mighty Zodiac are pitted against the malevolent Moon Rabbit Army that wants to use the stars for nefarious purposes. In a race against time as their ailing master depends on them, these brave warriors are their world’s only hope as darkness threatens to divide the tribes and destroy the world of Gaya. 

It’s batter-up in Fuzzy Baseball (FEB161707), John Steven Gurney’s first graphic novel for young readers from Papercutz. Longtime rival teams The Fernwood Valley Fuzzies and The Rocky Ridge Red Claws get ready to play their greatest game yet in an adorably animated style that baseball fans of all ages will love. All-star players like Jackie Rabbitson, Hammy Sosa, Gator Gibson, and Stretch Giraffolo are ready to take the field and give kids a chance to learn about baseball and teamwork along the way. Get your front row seat at Fuzzy Field and see what all the fun is about!

Eighties’ nostalgia is back as one of the most popular toy franchises of the last thirty years is returning to comics in an all new, fun and family-friendly title from IDW Publishing in Strawberry Shortcake #1 (FEB160329). Shortcake and all her berry scented pals are back for more fun and adventures, but a familiar and peculiar villain is on his way. It’s up to Strawberry to save the day from the Purple Pie man, but for this beloved character it should be a piece of cake. Don’t forget to pick up the “berry” special Strawberry Shortcake comic for Free Comic Book Day on May 7th!

Fans of Adventure Time and Steven Universe will love Z2 Comics latest series Welcome to Showside (FEB161983). Created by Ian McGinty, Showside is an average town that just so happens to have portals that keep flooding the town with demons and monsters. It’s up to Kit, Belle, and Moon to protect the little town of Showside and stop the portals to the Nexus realm! There’s just one small problem, Kit happens to be the son of the Great Shadow King who wants him to take over the family business of destroying the world. This fun-loving demon teen has other plans, and plenty more adventures to have before that happens!

These are just a few of the cool Kids Comics you can pre-order from the February PREVIEWS!

Look for the Kids Comics icon throughout the catalog and make sure to visit KidsComics.com to see the all ages titles coming out this week!

Follow Us Facebook Icon Twitter Icon Rss Feed Email YouTube Icon
Outside North America? Click here
Hadrian's Wall #1 Gets Second Printing

Image Comics is pleased to announce that HADRIAN’S WALL Issue #1 is being sent back to print in order to keep up with increased customer demand.